Computer Rendering vs Free Hand Sketching?

Guest bedroom quick free hand sketch

Guest bedroom quick free hand sketch

In my opinion, one of the most important pieces of the design process is the creation of a color sketch to visually explain the desired outcome of a design. This is the professional part that so many clients are craving and we as designers are able to offer in our list of services. But why do so many companies choose to use virtually sketching instead of hand drawn renderings?

I am absolutely not one to shy away from technology (especially as I sit next to my BlackBerry as though it is my life line) but I really feel strongly against computerized renderings for residential project. That is not to say that they don’t have their place in the commercial market for large developments and such, however, there is something so human and soft about a hand drawn rendering, be it from an artist or a quick hand armature sketcher. I think it shows a real connection between the designer and the space.

Do you agree with me? It just seems like there is such an amazement over computer renderings that is not justified. They are often very cold, stark, and lifeless. I understand that from a business standpoint there are many nice benefits…having the ability to make revisions quickly and often, as well as keeping the time for developing a rendering low.

Well it hasn’t taken me away from doing hand drawn sketches for my clients. I get such great feedback from the drawings and I think it is something that future Interior Designers should have in their toolbox of skills.

3 comments

  1. An Artist is always be an Artist. Computer will never think like human. they can be program but they will never be a real artist. Emotion is very important to produced an acceptable sketch.It would be factastic if I can draw four line and show to the client and be able to understand the design of the room.

  2. Hi, I am a thesis student in School of Interior Designing, CEPT, Gujarat, INDIA. I want to basically work on this topic. The topic which i had thought about was
    ‘HAND RENDERING vs. COMPUTER RENDERING – Has technology overcame soft skills or is it a helping hand?’
    Now i am not really sure how far it will lead me and what would i prove with that.
    Can you help me throw some light on this topic?

    Warm Regards

  3. I feel hand rendering over computer rendering because I feel it would show the client the fact that you are into the job they hired you for and willing to take the time to create. By computer rendering yes it has its advantages but in my opinoin does not show the creativity one may have. If a client is shown a computerized sketch of a room it would in some sense show a lack of commitment to the job at hand.

    Ron Steele

Leave a Reply

